Contentments of the 2013-2014 TV Season

This past season was probably one of the best of the past decade. In terms of cancellations, only 4 of my network shows were cancelled and that’s out of at least 30 shows that I regularly watched during the regular TV viewing season from September to May. That’s a fairly good ratio, especially if you consider the fact that so many of my favourite shows were on the bubble including The 100, Parenthood, Nashville, Reign, Hart of Dixie and Remedy.

The 10 best shows on TV, in my most humblest of opinions, were Orphan Black, Vikings, Revolution, The 100, Parenthood, Nashville, Reign, The Originals, Sleepy Hollow and Teen Wolf. There were so many great TV moments for these shows and a number of great actors and actresses who took part in them.

Nine new shows became keepers for me. That list includes The 100, Surviving Jack, Reign, The Originals, Sleepy Hollow, The Goldbergs, Remedy, Bitten and Trophy Wife. Of those, seven were renewed for a second season, which is the same as last year when Revolution, Nashville, Vikings, Saving Hope, Orphan Black, Orange is the New Black and Continuum were all renewed.

When it comes to veteran shows, the Most Improved Award would have to go to Grey’s Anatomy, which just finished its tenth season. Ever since the plane crash in Season 8’s finale, which caused the deaths of two immensely popular characters, Lexie Grey and Mark Sloan, the show had lost a lot of its appeal for me. This time last year I was enormously pessimistic about the show and considered taking it off my watch list. However, this past year, while the show has not returned to the level of excitement which existed in its early seasons,it still has enough for me to remain a loyal watcher. Kudos to Shonda Rhimes for not killing off Cristina Yang, because if she had (I wouldn’t put it past her) I would have definitely stopped watching.

Overall, it’s been a great season.

About Ally Oop

I live in Saskatchewan, the best place on earth and am the mother of three beautiful little girls. I have always loved to write. TV is a hobby of mine, and its not just the watching part that is a hobby; it's also the processes involved in the television industry, particularly both the Canadian and American television industries. I hold a degree in Canadian Studies, with a focus on Rural Canada and geography, with a few classes here and there in creative writing and theatre studies. If I didn't hate city-living so much (I tried my hand at living in Winnipeg for a few years) I would have tried to go to Vancouver or Toronto to try to become a television writer but just the idea of living in an apartment building (again) makes me shudder. I prefer my wide open spaces in the country.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

