Binge-Watching: What a Wonderful Way to Watch TV

I’m a little late to the binge-watching game but this summer I finally converted. I had so many shows with a plethora of episodes built up on my DVR, along with several shows on Netflix I wanted to watch, that I decided this summer, I would exclusively binge-watch. So far, I’ve almost stuck by my decision, although, because certain shows are must see, I had to watch those on a regular basis. These must-see weekly shows included Orphan Black, Chasing Life, Finding Carter, Teen Wolf and Young & Hungry. The rest I just wait till I have a bunch of episodes built up so I can watch at once. My binge-watching began at the beginning of June and so far, I’ve binge-watched the first three seasons of Call the Midwife (via Netflix), the first and final ūüė¶ season of Star-Crossed (via my DVR), the first 3 seasons of Downton Abbey (via Netflix), the second season of Orange Is the New Black (via Netflix) and I’m now watching Salem (via DVR). A few other shows I sampled and dropped. Shows next on my binge-watching schedule are Longmire (on both Netflix and my DVR), North & South (Netflix), Continuum (DVR), The Bletchley Circle (Netflix), Friday Night Lights (Netflix), Defiance (DVR), The Fall (Netflix), Misfits (DVR), Game of Thrones (DVR), Hell on Wheels (Netflix), Arrow (DVR), The Inbetweeners (Netflix), Degrassi (DVR) and Boys Over Flowers (DVR).¬†

Binge-watching on Netflix is awesome. It allows you to watch whole seasons of a show commercial-free at once. There’s many shows, such as Downton Abbey, Call the Midwife and The Walking Dead, that I completely missed the boat on. If it hadn’t been for Netflix I would likely have never watched these shows but now I have and I’m happy I did. One of my¬†qualms with Netflix is that sometimes, as what has happened with many of the CW/WB/UPN series, shows disappear altogether. I was just in the middle of watching Arrow’s first season when it suddenly vanished. Another qualm is that sometimes Netflix will only show the first 3 seasons of a show, and because I’m waiting for it on Netflix, I fail to watch the show when it comes on regular tv. so I miss out.¬†

Building up episodes on a DVR is also a good way to binge-watch. I find that now, when it comes to new shows with on-the-bubble ratings, I wait until such shows air a full 13 episodes to watch beyond the first episodes. It saves me from heartache when a show is abruptly pulled from the air by a network wanting better ratings. Such was the case with both Believe and Star-Crossed. I saw the writing on the wall for Believe and decided to erase it from my DVR. I almost did the same with Star-Crossed but even though I knew the show was cancelled, I watched all 13 episodes anyways, due primarily to the great reviews of the show on The TV Addict. 

I’m still debating on whether or not to stick to only binge-watching shows in the fall. I love discussing shows online though so maybe my top 5 shows I’ll watch live with the rest saved for binge-watching. I’ll also watch all the pilots when they air, just to see whether they’re worth taking space up on my DVR. This season may just be my last when it comes to watching shows on regular tv. With more shows than ever on Netflix, all commercial-free, I think maybe my days of weekly tv watching will soon be over. It’s binge-watching all the way, and cord-cutting is a trend I may just take up.

 

About Ally Oop

I live in Saskatchewan, the best place on earth and am the mother of three beautiful little girls. I have always loved to write. TV is a hobby of mine, and its not just the watching part that is a hobby; it's also the processes involved in the television industry, particularly both the Canadian and American television industries. I hold a degree in Canadian Studies, with a focus on Rural Canada and geography, with a few classes here and there in creative writing and theatre studies. If I didn't hate city-living so much (I tried my hand at living in Winnipeg for a few years) I would have tried to go to Vancouver or Toronto to try to become a television writer but just the idea of living in an apartment building (again) makes me shudder. I prefer my wide open spaces in the country.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

